The Metropolitan Opera Guild

To purchase tickets, please call 212-769-7028.

Backstage Tour

Monday, March 05, 2012 3:00 PM

Go behind the scenes for an exclusive look at what it takes to make onstage magic at the Met!

Tours offer a fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the Met, which includes a visit to the scenic and carpentry shop, where sets are built and painted; the costume, wardrobe, make-up, and wig departments; rehearsal rooms, where productions first take shape; the massive stage complex; and the auditorium.

Tours begin and end in the Met lobby and are held during the Met performance season on most weekdays at 3:00PM and most Sundays at 10:30AM and 1:30PM.

Groups of 10 or more may be entitled to special group rates. Private tours (1-5 people in a group) are available at a premium price. Please call 212.769.7028 to reserve.

The Backstage Tour includes standing, stairs, and elevators. All requests for wheelchairs and moblity challenged access must be made 1 week before the desired tour date. Please call 212.769.7028 with questions and to reserve.

Children under 6 years of age are not permitted on the tour.

We recommend purchasing at least two months in advance of your desired tour date, as space is limited and tours tend to sell out.

**If a tour date is SOLD OUT, you may arrive in the lobby of the Metropolitan Opera on the day of a tour at 2:50pm and add your name to our Standby List. We will do our best to accomodate you if space becomes available. All At-Door-Sales for tours are $20 for public, $10 for students.

Please note that the Metropolitan Opera and the Met Opera Guild offer Student pricing to full-time students age 29 and under with valid identification.



Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

March 2015>
SMTWTFS
22232425262728
1234
Wednesday, March 04, 2015
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
Seduction and Obsession in Carmen
6:00 PM
At the Met: Carmen
7:30 PM
5 6
Friday, March 06, 2015
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Don Giovanni
7:30 PM
7
Saturday, March 07, 2015
At the Met: Carmen
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Donna del Lago
8:00 PM
8
Sunday, March 08, 2015
Backstage Tour
10:30 AM
Backstage Tour
1:30 PM
9
Monday, March 09, 2015
At the Met: Manon
7:30 PM
10
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
At the Met: La Donna del Lago
7:30 PM
11
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffman
8:00 PM
12
Thursday, March 12, 2015
French Realism: Carmen & the Verismo Style
2:00 PM
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Manon
7:30 PM
13
Friday, March 13, 2015
Tribute - Albanese-Bergonzi
7:30 PM
14
1516
Monday, March 16, 2015
At the Met: Lucia di Lammermoor
7:30 PM
17
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Love vs. Money: The Story of Manon
6:00 PM
At the Met: Manon
7:30 PM
18
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffman
7:30 PM
19 20
Friday, March 20, 2015
At the Met: Ernani
7:30 PM
21
2223
Monday, March 23, 2015
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Ernani
7:30 PM
24 25
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Manon
7:30 PM
26
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
The Voices of Ernani
6:00 PM
At the Met: Ernani
7:30 PM
2728
29 30
Monday, March 30, 2015
At the Met: Don Carlo
7:00 PM
31
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Ernani
7:30 PM
1
Wednesday, April 01, 2015
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Lucia di Lammermoor
7:30 PM
2
Thursday, April 02, 2015
At the Met: Don Carlo
7:00 PM
34
Saturday, April 04, 2015
At the Met: Ernani
1:00 PM
At the Met: Lucia di Lammermoor
8:00 PM