To purchase tickets, please call 212-769-7028.

Backstage Tours

Friday, April 05, 2013 3:15 PM

Go behind the scenes for an exclusive look at what it takes to make operatic magic at the Met!

Tours offer a fascinating backstage look at one of the world's premiere performing arts organizations, including visits to the scenic and carpentry shops, rehearsal rooms, and stage area.

Tours begin and end in the Met lobby and are held during the Met performance season on most weekdays at 3:15PM and select Sundays at 10:30AM and 1:30PM.

Groups of 10 or more may be entitled to special group rates. Please call 212.769.7028 to reserve. Private tours (1-5 people in a group) are available at a premium price.

The Backstage Tour includes considerable standing, walking, stairs, and elevators. We are able to accommodate individuals using wheelchairs or having other mobility challenges if a request is made at least 1 week before the desired tour date. Please call 212.769.7028 with questions and to reserve.

Children under 6 years of age are not permitted on the tour due to safety reasons.

We recommend purchasing at least two months in advance of your desired tour date, as space is limited and tours tend to sell out.

**If a tour date is SOLD OUT, you may arrive in the lobby of the Metropolitan Opera on the day of a tour at 2:50pm and add your name to our Standby List. We will do our best to accommodate you if space becomes available. All At-Door-Sales for tours are $20 for public, $10 for students (full-time with a valid student ID).

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

September 2014>
SMTWTFS
31123456
78910111213
141516
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
MetTalks: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:00 PM
17181920
2122
Monday, September 22, 2014
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
6:15 PM
23
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
At the Met: La Bohème
7:30 PM
24
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
At the Met: Macbeth
7:30 PM
25
Thursday, September 25, 2014
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
26
Friday, September 26, 2014
At the Met: La Bohème
7:30 PM
27
2829 30
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
At the Met: Carmen
7:30 PM
12 3
Friday, October 03, 2014
At the Met: Macbeth
7:30 PM
4
Saturday, October 04, 2014
At the Met: Carmen
12:00 PM
At the Met: La Bohème
8:30 PM
5 6
Monday, October 06, 2014
Musical Chairs: Denyce Graves
6:00 PM
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
7:30 PM
7
Tuesday, October 07, 2014
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
8
Wednesday, October 08, 2014
Verdi & Shakespeare: The Music of Macbeth
6:00 PM
At the Met: Macbeth
7:30 PM
9
Thursday, October 09, 2014
At the Met: Carmen
7:30 PM
10
Friday, October 10, 2014
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
11
Saturday, October 11, 2014
At the Met: Macbeth
1:00 PM
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
8:00 PM