The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

From Here to Eternity: Immortal Beloved

All tickets are sold out!

Thursday, May 03, 2012 2:00 PM

Presented by Fred Plotkin

Part of the From Here to Eternity: Life, Love, and Immortality in Opera series

Time takes different shapes in opera — whether it stops altogether or extends to eternity. Couples fall in love in the blink of an eye; heroes die with excruciating slowness. In opera, time and emotion are often connected. Fred Plotkin discusses this fascinating relationship in some of the most popular works in the repertoire.
     In Fidelio, his only opera, Beethoven dramatized the love between a husband and a wife under the most difficult of circumstances. Take a closer look at the powerful connections between love and music in this dramatic masterpiece.

If you would like to purchase the entire From Here to Eternity course, please click here or visit the "Courses" tab on the Lectures and More page.

Please note that the Metropolitan Opera and the Met Opera Guild offer Student pricing to full-time undergraduate and graduate students with valid student identification.

This event will be held in the Metropolitan Opera Guild Opera Learning Center located on the 6th floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose building at Lincoln Center. For questions, please call the LCP Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

December 2016>
SMTWTFS
27282930123
456 7
Wednesday, December 07, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Manon Lescaut
8:00 PM
8
Thursday, December 08, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM

STERLING SILVER 

12:15 PM
9
Friday, December 09, 2016
At the Met: Salome
8:00 PM
10
Saturday, December 10, 2016
At the Met: L’Amour de Loin
1:00 PM
At the Met: Manon Lescaut
8:00 PM
11
Sunday, December 11, 2016
Backstage Tour
10:30 AM
Backstage Tour
1:30 PM
12
Monday, December 12, 2016
Nabucco and the Chorus of the People
6:00 PM
At the Met: Nabucco
7:30 PM
13
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Salome
8:00 PM
14
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: L’Amour de Loin
7:30 PM
1516
Friday, December 16, 2016
At the Met: Nabucco
7:30 PM
17
Saturday, December 17, 2016
At the Met: Salome
1:00 PM
At the Met: L’Amour de Loin
8:00 PM
18
Sunday, December 18, 2016
Backstage Tour
10:30 AM
Backstage Tour
1:30 PM
19
Monday, December 19, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Nabucco
7:30 PM
20
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
21
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: L’Amour de Loin
7:30 PM
22
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Nabucco
7:30 PM
23
Friday, December 23, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
24
Saturday, December 24, 2016
At the Met: L’Amour de Loin
12:00 PM
At the Met: Salome
6:00 PM
2526
Monday, December 26, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:00 PM
27
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Nabucco
7:30 PM
28
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
At the Met: Salome
8:00 PM
29
Thursday, December 29, 2016
At the Met: The Magic Flute
12:00 PM
At the Met: L’Amour de Loin
7:30 PM
30
Friday, December 30, 2016
At the Met: The Magic Flute
12:00 PM
At the Met: Nabucco
8:00 PM
31
Saturday, December 31, 2016
At the Met: Romeo et Juliette
6:30 PM
12
Monday, January 02, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:00 PM
3
Tuesday, January 03, 2017
At the Met: Nabucco
7:30 PM
4
Wednesday, January 04, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Romeo et Juliette
7:30 PM
5
Thursday, January 05, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
6
Friday, January 06, 2017
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
7
Saturday, January 07, 2017
At the Met: Nabucco
1:00 PM
At the Met: Romeo et Juliette
8:00 PM