The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Russian, Slavic, and French Repertoire Part One: Tchaikovsky and the Russian Romantic Musical Landscape

All tickets are sold out!

Saturday, February 04, 2017 11:00 AM

Presented by Naomi Barrettara
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Part of the Opera Boot Camp: Russian, Slavic, and French Repertoire series

The lineup of the Met’s 2016–17 season features a variety of operas from the French, Slavic, and Russian romantic repertoire, as well as a contemporary work by a Finnish composer. Join guild lecturer Naomi Barrettara as she explores the lives of these operas’ creators as well as the historical background, musical style, and cultural milieu of each work.

In this first lecture of the series we will focus on the life and musical style of Tchaikovsky, the evolution of his Eugene Onegin from Pushkin’s novel to the operatic stage, and elements of the opera that have contributed to its lasting popularity.

If you would like to purchase the entire Opera Boot Camp: Russian, Slavic, and French Repertoire course, please click here or visit the "Courses" tab on the Lectures and More page.

Please note that Student pricing is available to full-time students with valid identification.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

February 2017>
SMTWTFS
2930311234
567891011
12131415161718
1920212223
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Werther
7:30 PM
24
Friday, February 24, 2017
At the Met: La Traviata
7:30 PM
25
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Score Reading: Aria Jukebox
11:00 AM
At the Met: Rusalka
1:00 PM
At the Met: I Puritani
8:00 PM
26
Sunday, February 26, 2017
Backstage Tour
10:30 AM
Backstage Tour
1:30 PM
Master Class: La Traviata
4:00 PM
27
Monday, February 27, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Werther
7:30 PM
28
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: I Puritani
7:30 PM
1
Wednesday, March 01, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Traviata
7:30 PM
2 3
Friday, March 03, 2017
At the Met: Romeo et Juliette
8:00 PM
4
Saturday, March 04, 2017
At the Met: Werther
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Traviata
8:00 PM
5
Sunday, March 05, 2017
Backstage Tour
10:30 AM
Backstage Tour
1:30 PM
6
Monday, March 06, 2017
At the Met: Idomeneo
7:30 PM
7
Tuesday, March 07, 2017
At the Met: La Traviata
7:30 PM
8
Wednesday, March 08, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
Musical Chairs with Thomas Hampson
6:00 PM
At the Met: Romeo et Juliette
7:30 PM
9 10
Friday, March 10, 2017
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Idomeneo
7:30 PM
11
Saturday, March 11, 2017
At the Met: La Traviata
1:00 PM
At the Met: Romeo et Juliette
8:00 PM