Pick a Date

Giulio Cesare

The opera that conquered London in Handel’s time comes to the Met in David McVicar’s inventive production—which triumphed at its Glyndebourne premiere in 2005. The Guardian praised McVicar’s “witty, sexy, and tragic post-colonial framing of Handel’s Caesar and Cleopatra tale,” which incorporates elements of Baroque theater and 19th-century British imperialism to illuminate the opera’s ideas of love, war, and empire building. The world’s leading countertenor, David Daniels, sings the title role opposite Natalie Dessay as an irresistibly exotic Cleopatra. Baroque specialist Harry Bicket conducts.
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

August 2014>
SMTWTFS
272829303112
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
Saturday, August 23, 2014
Summer HD Festival: La Bohème
5:30 PM
24
Sunday, August 24, 2014
Summer HD Festival: Prince Igor
5:30 PM
25
Monday, August 25, 2014
Summer HD Festival: The Nose
5:30 PM
26
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Summer HD Festival: Simon Boccanegra
5:30 PM
27
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Summer HD Festival: Falstaff
5:30 PM
28
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Summer HD Festival: Rusalka
5:30 PM
29
Friday, August 29, 2014
Summer HD Festival: L'Elisir d'Amore
5:30 PM
30
Saturday, August 30, 2014
Summer HD Festival: Don Pasquale
5:30 PM
31
Sunday, August 31, 2014
Summer HD Festival: Werther
5:30 PM
1
Monday, September 01, 2014
Summer HD Festival: Eugene Onegin
5:30 PM
23456