Pick a Date

Giulio Cesare

The opera that conquered London in Handel’s time comes to the Met in David McVicar’s inventive production—which triumphed at its Glyndebourne premiere in 2005. The Guardian praised McVicar’s “witty, sexy, and tragic post-colonial framing of Handel’s Caesar and Cleopatra tale,” which incorporates elements of Baroque theater and 19th-century British imperialism to illuminate the opera’s ideas of love, war, and empire building. The world’s leading countertenor, David Daniels, sings the title role opposite Natalie Dessay as an irresistibly exotic Cleopatra. Baroque specialist Harry Bicket conducts.
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

October 2014>
SMTWTFS
2829301234
567891011
12131415161718
192021222324
Friday, October 24, 2014
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Death of Klinghoffer
7:30 PM
25
Saturday, October 25, 2014
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
1:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
8:00 PM
26
Sunday, October 26, 2014
Backstage Tour
10:30 AM
Backstage Tour
1:30 PM
27
Monday, October 27, 2014
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
7:30 PM
28 29
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Death of Klinghoffer
7:30 PM
30
Thursday, October 30, 2014
The Humanist: Verdi's Middle-Period Baritones
2:00 PM
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
31
Friday, October 31, 2014
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
7:30 PM
1
2
Sunday, November 02, 2014
Backstage Tour
10:30 AM
Backstage Tour
1:30 PM
3
Monday, November 03, 2014
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
7:30 PM
4
Tuesday, November 04, 2014
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
A Composer's Voice
5:30 PM
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
5
Wednesday, November 05, 2014
Backstage Tour
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Death of Klinghoffer
7:30 PM
6 7
Friday, November 07, 2014
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
8
Saturday, November 08, 2014
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
1:00 PM
At the Met: The Death of Klinghoffer
8:00 PM