The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Guild Activities

Celebrating its 80th anniversary, the Metropolitan Opera Guild is the world's premier arts education organization dedicated to enriching people's lives through the magic and artistry of opera. The Guild offers a wide array of educational programs designed for both schools and adult learners in the community, that teach elements of music, history, production and culture.

The Guild fosters collaboration, literacy skills, and self-confidence in children with customized education programs integrated into the curriculum of their schools, and builds a deeper appreciation of opera in adults through workshops, community programs, and by publishing Opera News, the world’s leading opera magazine. Through our unique relationship with the Metropolitan Opera, the Guild offers newcomers to opera and its most ardent fans access to the artistry, splendor and resources of one of the world's most renowned performing arts companies, allowing for many unique programs and events that offer professional and personal growth and learning opportunities through opera.

OPERA NEWS, the monthly magazine published by the Guild, reports on opera around the world. Each issue includes reviews of commercial recordings and live performances, profiles of artists, and articles by eminent writers on the music scene. During the Saturday afternoon Met broadcast season, the magazine also includes an in-depth guide to both radio and HD broadcasts. OPERA NEWS is the world’s largest-circulation magazine devoted to opera. OPERA NEWS also maintains an active web site at www.operanews.com.

The Guild produces an annual series of public programs in major New York City venues both to raise funds for its education programs and to celebrate the art and artists of opera. Foremost among these are the OPERA NEWS Awards, at which five honorees are chosen by the editors of OPERA NEWS and recognized for their distinguished achievement in opera. The Guild’s Annual Luncheon, Met Legends, and Met Mastersingers events also honor the great figures of opera and are attended by thousands of music fans each season.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

April 2020>
SMTWTFS
2930311234
56789
Thursday, April 09, 2020
At the Met: Turandot
7:30 PM
10
Friday, April 10, 2020
At the Met: Simon Boccanegra
7:30 PM
11
Saturday, April 11, 2020
At the Met: Tosca
1:00 PM
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
8:00 PM
1213
Monday, April 13, 2020
At the Met: Turandot
7:30 PM
14
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
At the Met: Simon Boccanegra
7:30 PM
15
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
At the Met: Tosca
7:30 PM
1617
Friday, April 17, 2020
At the Met: Turandot
8:00 PM
18
19
Sunday, April 19, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
3:00 PM
2021
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
At the Met: Turandot
7:30 PM
22 23 2425
2627
Monday, April 27, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
7:30 PM
28 29
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Magical Mezzos: Part 2
11:00 AM
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
30
Thursday, April 30, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
7:30 PM
1
Friday, May 01, 2020
At the Met: Manon Lescaut
8:00 PM
2
Saturday, May 02, 2020
Animals in Opera
11:00 AM
At the Met: Kát'a Kabanová
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
3
Sunday, May 03, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
3:00 PM
45
Tuesday, May 05, 2020
At the Met: Manon Lescaut
8:00 PM
6
Wednesday, May 06, 2020
Magical Mezzos: Part 3
11:00 AM
At the Met: Kát'a Kabanová
8:00 PM
7
Thursday, May 07, 2020
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM
8
Friday, May 08, 2020
At the Met: Manon Lescaut
8:00 PM
9
Saturday, May 09, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
1:00 PM
At the Met: Kát'a Kabanová
7:30 PM