The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Guild Activities

Celebrating its 80th anniversary, the Metropolitan Opera Guild is the world's premier arts education organization dedicated to enriching people's lives through the magic and artistry of opera. The Guild offers a wide array of educational programs designed for both schools and adult learners in the community, that teach elements of music, history, production and culture.

The Guild fosters collaboration, literacy skills, and self-confidence in children with customized education programs integrated into the curriculum of their schools, and builds a deeper appreciation of opera in adults through workshops, community programs, and by publishing Opera News, the world’s leading opera magazine. Through our unique relationship with the Metropolitan Opera, the Guild offers newcomers to opera and its most ardent fans access to the artistry, splendor and resources of one of the world's most renowned performing arts companies, allowing for many unique programs and events that offer professional and personal growth and learning opportunities through opera.

OPERA NEWS, the monthly magazine published by the Guild, reports on opera around the world. Each issue includes reviews of commercial recordings and live performances, profiles of artists, and articles by eminent writers on the music scene. During the Saturday afternoon Met broadcast season, the magazine also includes an in-depth guide to both radio and HD broadcasts. With a circulation of over 100,000, it is the world’s largest-circulation magazine devoted to opera. OPERA NEWS also maintains an active web site at www.operanews.com.

The Guild produces an annual series of public programs in major New York City venues both to raise funds for its education programs and to celebrate the art and artists of opera. Foremost among these are the OPERA NEWS Awards, at which five honorees are chosen by the editors of OPERA NEWS and recognized for their distinguished achievement in opera. The Guild’s Annual Luncheon, Met Legends, and Met Mastersingers events also honor the great figures of opera and are attended by thousands of music fans each season.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

December 2017>
SMTWTFS
262728293012
3456789
101112
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
In Studio: Sir Thomas Allen
6:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
1314
Thursday, December 14, 2017
At the Met: The Merry Widow
7:30 PM
15
Friday, December 15, 2017
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
8:00 PM
16
Saturday, December 16, 2017
At the Met: Norma
1:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
8:00 PM
1718
Monday, December 18, 2017
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
7:30 PM
19
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
20
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
7:30 PM
2122
Friday, December 22, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
8:00 PM
23
Saturday, December 23, 2017
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
1:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
8:00 PM
242526
Tuesday, December 26, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
7:30 PM
27
Wednesday, December 27, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
7:30 PM
28
Thursday, December 28, 2017
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
1:00 PM
29
Friday, December 29, 2017
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
30
Saturday, December 30, 2017
At the Met: The Merry Widow
1:00 PM
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
8:00 PM
31
Sunday, December 31, 2017
At the Met: Tosca
6:30 PM
1
Monday, January 01, 2018
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
7:30 PM
2
Tuesday, January 02, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
7:30 PM
3
Wednesday, January 03, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Tosca
7:30 PM
4
Thursday, January 04, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
5
Friday, January 05, 2018
At the Met: The Merry Widow
8:00 PM
6
Saturday, January 06, 2018
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
1:00 PM
At the Met: Tosca
8:00 PM