The Metropolitan Opera Guild

 

Continuing Opera Education 
 
Continuing Education classes (CoEd) at the Metropolitan Opera Guild are designed to provide life-long learning opportunities for those interested in delving deeper into subject matter in a college classroom-style setting. CoEd courses include reading assignments between lectures in preparation for classroom discussion. Ability to read music is helpful but not required. Students are provided with digital copies of all reading and listening material. Score excerpts will also be provided when applicable for those interested in utilizing them as supplemental material for their studies.  
   
Tickets are now on sale!  

    

To purchase tickets to the full course, please click here. To purchase tickets to individual sessions, please click their titles below. 
 
TUESDAY OCT 15, 22, 29 NOV 5 6:30-8PM  
Presented by Naomi Barrettara 
 
The 20th century was a time of incredible change. Two World Wars, shifts in political alliances, the redrawing of national borders, rising and falling economies, rapid changes in technology, and the explosion of informal and cultural exchange began happening at a rate faster than ever before in human history. In this period of 100 years, musical trends developed and evolved rapidly, and opera as an art form went through a dramatic process of evolution and reincarnation as composers reacted to the many changes happening in the world around them. In this four-week CoEd class, lecturer Naomi Barrettara guides audiences through an in depth exploration of operatic masterpieces of the 20th century featured in the 2019-20 season. Each session will examine unique elements of each work’s musical style and compositional construction, as well as information about the composer, historical context, cultural influences, and points of inspiration for the operas under study. 
 
 
  

 

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

December 2019>
SMTWTFS
24252627282930
1234567
8
Sunday, December 08, 2019
At the Met: The Queen of Spades
3:00 PM
9
Monday, December 09, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
1011
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
1213
Friday, December 13, 2019
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
14
Saturday, December 14, 2019
At the Met: The Queen of Spades
1:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
8:00 PM
15
Sunday, December 15, 2019
At the Met: The Magic Flute
3:00 PM
1617
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
18
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Queen of Spades
7:30 PM
19
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
20
Friday, December 20, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
21
Saturday, December 21, 2019
At the Met: The Magic Flute
1:00 PM
At the Met: The Queen of Spades
8:00 PM
22
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
23
Monday, December 23, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
24
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
25262728
29
Sunday, December 29, 2019
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
3031
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
At the Met: NYEGala starring Anna Netrebko
5:30 PM
1
Wednesday, January 01, 2020
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
2
Thursday, January 02, 2020
At the Met: The Magic Flute
1:00 PM
At the Met: Wozzeck
8:00 PM
3
Friday, January 03, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
4
Saturday, January 04, 2020
Der Rosenkavalier
10:00 AM
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
12:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
8:00 PM