The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Opera Boot Camp 
 
One of the Guild’s most popular learning programs, Opera Boot Camps offer newcomers and seasoned operagoers alike a friendly, entertaining, and enlightening exploration of various elements of the art form. Each Opera Boot Camp is structured in four sessions, spread over two consecutive Saturdays.  
 
Pricing for each Opera Boot Camp is as follows: 
Full Course Registration: $100 Public | $85 Guild members and students 
Individual Session Registration: $28 Public | $25 Guild members and students 
 
Tickets are now on sale!  

 
SATURDAY SEP 25, OCT 5 10:30AM-12PM & 1-2:30PM 
 
Presented by Naomi Barrettara 
There is something for everybody in opera, but it can be daunting to figure out where to start. In this series, lecturer Naomi Barrettara kicks off the 2019–20 season of Opera Boot Camps with an introduction to opera history, musical terms, and voice types designed to be friendly for both newcomers and veteran operagoers.  
 
 
SATURDAY JAN 25, FEB 1 10:30AM-12PM & 1-2:30PM 
Presented by Naomi Barrettara 
 
From the very beginning of opera as an art form, love stories have inspired someof the most beautiful, heartbreaking, and beloved music—as well as centuries of impassioned singing. In our winter Opera Boot Camp, lecturer Naomi Barrettara explores how generations of composers have expressed the complexities of love, rejection, and redemption in their greatest operatic masterpieces.  
 
 
SATURDAY APR 18 & 25 10:30AM-12PM & 1-2:30PM 
Presented by Naomi Barrettara 
 
Conductors are vitally important in the opera house, leading and directing the ensemble of musical forces that comes together during a performance. In the last Opera Boot Camp of the 2019–20 season, lecturer Naomi Barrettara explores the role of the conductor in opera, discussing the history, mechanics, and musical elements of conducting, as well as the extraordinary careers of some legendary conductors.  
  
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

December 2019>
SMTWTFS
24252627282930
1234567
8
Sunday, December 08, 2019
At the Met: The Queen of Spades
3:00 PM
9
Monday, December 09, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
1011
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
1213
Friday, December 13, 2019
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
14
Saturday, December 14, 2019
At the Met: The Queen of Spades
1:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
8:00 PM
15
Sunday, December 15, 2019
At the Met: The Magic Flute
3:00 PM
1617
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
18
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Queen of Spades
7:30 PM
19
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
20
Friday, December 20, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
21
Saturday, December 21, 2019
At the Met: The Magic Flute
1:00 PM
At the Met: The Queen of Spades
8:00 PM
22
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
23
Monday, December 23, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
24
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
25262728
29
Sunday, December 29, 2019
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
3031
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
At the Met: NYEGala starring Anna Netrebko
5:30 PM
1
Wednesday, January 01, 2020
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
7:00 PM
2
Thursday, January 02, 2020
At the Met: The Magic Flute
1:00 PM
At the Met: Wozzeck
8:00 PM
3
Friday, January 03, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
4
Saturday, January 04, 2020
Der Rosenkavalier
10:00 AM
At the Met: Der Rosenkavalier
12:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
8:00 PM