The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Study Days 

 
 Study Days are designed to provide a more in-depth discovery of various opera-related topics. Held on a single day with one morning and one afternoon session, the day provides the opportunity to explore the world of opera in tighter focus. 
 
Events are held in the Opera Learning Center, on the 6th floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center. 
 
Upcoming Study Days: 
 
Opera in the New Millennium, Parts 1 and 2 
Saturday, October 21, 10:30AM-12PM & 1-2:30PM  
Presented by Naomi Barrettara and Elspeth Davis 
From Monteverdi to Muhly, opera has been an important form of cultural expression and an agent of change for centuries. Thomas Adès The Exterminating Angel is one of the most dramatically thrilling operas to premier in the last two decades; however, it's not the only one. Focusing on works written post-2000, Guild lecturers Naomi Barrettara and Elspeth Davis will discuss musical styles and theatrical trends that are shaping opera today.
 

 

Last Works, Parts 1 and 2 
Saturday, November 4, 10:30AM-12PM & 1-2:30PM  
Presented by Michael Bolton 
From Puccini to Wagner to Mozart, many composers' final operatic creations take the Metropolitan Opera stage this season. Opera Philadelphia Vice President, Community Initiatives, Michael Bolton joins the Guild community to explore the music and meaning and some of these composers' beloved last works.
 

 

 Cendrillon, Parts 1 and 2 
Saturday, April 21, 10:30AM-12PM & 1-2:30PM  
Presented by Desirée Mays 
Laurent Pelly, director of the Met's new Cendrillon, took inspiration from the pages of a classic storybook when creating his fanciful staging. In a two-part study, Desirée Mays will trace the history of the Cinderella fairytale and explore some issues it raises for both children and adults. Why has this tale stood the test of time in so many cultures? How does Cendrillon reflect Massenet's musical voice and French style? Participants will also examine Rossini's Italian version, La Cenerentola, by comparing musical examples with a libretto.
Tickets for the 2017-18 Season go on sale on Monday, August 7! 

  

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

February 2018>
SMTWTFS
28293031123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
Saturday, February 24, 2018
At the Met: La Boheme
12:30 PM
At the Met: Semiramide
8:00 PM
25
Sunday, February 25, 2018
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
26
Monday, February 26, 2018
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
7:30 PM
27
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
At the Met: Parsifal
6:00 PM
28
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
Bel Canto Fireworks: Rossini's Semiramide
6:00 PM
At the Met: Semiramide
7:30 PM
1
Thursday, March 01, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Elektra
8:00 PM
2
Friday, March 02, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM
3
Saturday, March 03, 2018
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
1:00 PM
At the Met: Semiramide
8:00 PM
4
Sunday, March 04, 2018
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
5
Monday, March 05, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
Obsession and Revenge in Elektra
6:00 PM
At the Met: Elektra
7:30 PM
6
Tuesday, March 06, 2018
In Studio: Ermonela Jaho
6:00 PM
At the Met: Semiramide
7:30 PM
7
Wednesday, March 07, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
8
Thursday, March 08, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
7:30 PM
9
Friday, March 09, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Elektra
8:00 PM
10
Saturday, March 10, 2018
Score Reading: Semiramide
10:00 AM
Score Reading: Semiramide
10:00 AM
At the Met: Semiramide
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
8:30 PM