The Metropolitan Opera Guild

OPERA LEARNING INSTITUTE 

August 6-11, 2017 

This week-long intensive professional development workshop helps educators build the knowledge and skills to incorporate the elements of opera (text analysis, libretto writing, music composition, theatrical design and staging) into ongoing instruction.  Teachers learn to guide students in creating original operatic material based on stories, poems, or historical events from the classroom curriculum.

The Opera Learning Institute is designed for educators new to opera, as well as seasoned opera-lovers.   Teachers can receive professional development credit through the NYC DOE, and will leave with clear strategies for connecting artistic processes with multiple subject areas. This intensive workshop is also endorsed by the New Jersey Education Association. 

 

REGISTER NOW! 




APPROPRIATE FOR 

Educators of Students Grade K to 12

DATES  

Sunday, August 6: 1:00 pm–4:00 pm
Monday, August 7: 9:00 am–5:00 pm
Tuesday, August 8: 9:00 am–5:00 pm
Wednesday, August 9: 9:00 am–5:00 pm
Thursday, August 10: 9:00 am–5:00 pm
Friday, August 11: 9:00 am–4:00 pm

TUITION 

$175 (free for Metropolitan Opera Guild partner school teachers currently enrolled in Teaching Through Opera)

P-CREDIT 

Available to all NYC classroom teachers for additional $125 payable to ASPDP. Info on obtaining credit for this course can be found here.

TO REGISTER 

Click here for Opera Learning Institute registration form. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 

schoolpartnerships@metguild.org
212.769.7022

Download a brochure   

 

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

September 2017>
SMTWTFS
272829303112
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425
Monday, September 25, 2017
At the Met: Norma
6:30 PM
26
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
7:30 PM
27
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
7:30 PM
28
Thursday, September 28, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
Love and Loss in Bellini's Norma
6:00 PM
At the Met: Norma
8:00 PM
2930
Saturday, September 30, 2017
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
12:00 PM
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
8:00 PM
12
Monday, October 02, 2017
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
3
Tuesday, October 03, 2017
At the Met: Norma
7:30 PM
4
Wednesday, October 04, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
7:30 PM
5
Thursday, October 05, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
7:30 PM
6
Friday, October 06, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM
7
Saturday, October 07, 2017
Score Reading: Norma
10:00 AM
Score Reading: Norma
10:00 AM
At the Met: Norma
1:00 PM
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
8:00 PM