The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Courses of Study 

 
 These multiple-part courses give you a chance to take an in-depth look at specific operatic topics related to the Met's 2017-2018 season. Click on each course title to find out more about its individual sessions. 
 
Events are held in the Opera Learning Center, on the 6th floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center. 
 
Upcoming courses: 
 
Thursdays November 2, 9, & 16, 2-3:30PM  
Presented by Jane Marsh 
Trouser roles, or "pants roles," is a theatrical term referring to the portrayal of a male character by a female performer. The trouser role is one of the great eccentricities of opera - but also one of the most intriguing. In this three-week course, Jane Marsh showcases three singers while discussing the diversity of trouser roles presented in the Met's 2017-18 season.
 

 

Wednesdays, April 18 & 25, May 2, 11AM-12:30PM  
Presented by Ira Siff 
Joan Sutherland and Luciano Pavarotti. Maria Callas and Giuseppe di Stefano. Plácido Domingo and Mirella Freni. Renata Tebaldi and Mario del Monaco. Each were consummate musicians in their own right, but when they performed together, the combined force of their star power was electric. Dynamic duos are what operatic legends are made of, leaving audiences breathless, in tears, and entranced with their musical and dramatic chemistry. But what stories are behind some of these great partnerships? What were the secret musical ingredients that combined with such legenday success? In this three-part series, Met radio commentator Ira Siff takes us on a musical journey with some of the power duos of opera to discover how they created the special connections that kept audiences wanting more.
 

 

Tickets for the 2017-18 Season go on sale on Monday, August 7! 
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

December 2017>
SMTWTFS
262728293012
3456789
1011
Monday, December 11, 2017
At the Met: Norma
7:30 PM
12
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
In Studio: Sir Thomas Allen
6:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
1314
Thursday, December 14, 2017
At the Met: The Merry Widow
7:30 PM
15
Friday, December 15, 2017
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
8:00 PM
16
Saturday, December 16, 2017
At the Met: Norma
1:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
8:00 PM
1718
Monday, December 18, 2017
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
7:30 PM
19
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
20
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
7:30 PM
2122
Friday, December 22, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
8:00 PM
23
Saturday, December 23, 2017
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
1:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
8:00 PM
242526
Tuesday, December 26, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
7:30 PM
27
Wednesday, December 27, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
7:30 PM
28
Thursday, December 28, 2017
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
1:00 PM
29
Friday, December 29, 2017
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
30
Saturday, December 30, 2017
At the Met: The Merry Widow
1:00 PM
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
8:00 PM
31
Sunday, December 31, 2017
At the Met: Tosca
6:30 PM
1
Monday, January 01, 2018
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
7:30 PM
2
Tuesday, January 02, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Merry Widow
7:30 PM
3
Wednesday, January 03, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Tosca
7:30 PM
4
Thursday, January 04, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
5
Friday, January 05, 2018
At the Met: The Merry Widow
8:00 PM
6
Saturday, January 06, 2018
At the Met: Hansel and Gretel
1:00 PM
At the Met: Tosca
8:00 PM