The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Opera Boot Camp Part Four: Electra

To purchase tickets, please call 212-769-7028.

Saturday, March 12, 2022 1:00 PM

In lecture four, we’ll conclude our journey of Greek drama after the Trojan War with arguably the most violent and bloodthirsty of Greek myths, the saga of Agamemnon. We will begin by returning to Gluck, looking at his Iphigénie en Tauride (1779), one of the many operas he wrote for the French stage after his career in Italy. Then, we will discuss one of operas most powerful, beautiful, and disturbing musical adaptations, Strauss’s Elektra (1909). Finally, we will explore our only Greek tragedy-turned-opera sung in Greek and composed by a Greek composer, Mikis Theodorakis’s Electra (1995).

This course has four sessions. To purchase all sessions of Opera Boot Camp: Opera and Greek Drama, please click here.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

May 2022>
SMTWTFS
24252627
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
282930
Saturday, April 30, 2022
At the Met: Aida
3:00 PM
123456
Friday, May 06, 2022
At the Met: Aida
8:00 PM
7
8910
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
111213
Friday, May 13, 2022
At the Met: Aida
1:00 PM
14
15161718
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
192021
222324
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
At the Met: Score Desk Tickets: La Boheme
8:00 PM
25
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
7:30 PM
26 27
Friday, May 27, 2022
At the Met: Score Desk Tickets: La Boheme
8:00 PM
28
Saturday, May 28, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
1:00 PM
At the Met: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
2930
Monday, May 30, 2022
At the Met: The Rake's Progress
7:30 PM
31
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
At the Met: Hamlet
7:30 PM
1
Wednesday, June 01, 2022
At the Met: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
2
Thursday, June 02, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
7:30 PM
3
Friday, June 03, 2022
At the Met: The Rake's Progress
7:00 PM
4
Saturday, June 04, 2022
At the Met: Hamlet
1:00 PM
At the Met: Rigoletto
8:00 PM