The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Study Day: Madness in Lucia di Lammermoor Part One

To purchase tickets, please call 212-769-7028.

Saturday, May 07, 2022 10:30 AM

Lucia di Lammermoor is arguably one of the most popular Italian bel canto operas in the repertoire today. But why? What does this opera have that others do not? Although the opera premiered in 1835, why is it still popular and inspiring new productions and introducing audiences worldwide to the sound world of a young woman who has gone mad? In this Study Day, Dr. Mark Pottinger will discuss answers to these questions by exploring nineteenth-century notions of murder, madness, and the supernatural, as well as more musically-centered concepts such as vocal virtuosity, instrumentation, and the general sonic environment of Donizetti in his most serious and tragic of musical offerings to the public.

This event is part of a two part Study Day. To purchase tickets to the full Study Day: Madness in Lucia, please click here.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

May 2022>
SMTWTFS
24252627
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
282930
Saturday, April 30, 2022
At the Met: Aida
3:00 PM
123456
Friday, May 06, 2022
At the Met: Aida
8:00 PM
7
8910
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
111213
Friday, May 13, 2022
At the Met: Aida
1:00 PM
14
15161718
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
192021
222324
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
At the Met: Score Desk Tickets: La Boheme
8:00 PM
25
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
7:30 PM
26 27
Friday, May 27, 2022
At the Met: Score Desk Tickets: La Boheme
8:00 PM
28
Saturday, May 28, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
1:00 PM
At the Met: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
2930
Monday, May 30, 2022
At the Met: The Rake's Progress
7:30 PM
31
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
At the Met: Hamlet
7:30 PM
1
Wednesday, June 01, 2022
At the Met: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
2
Thursday, June 02, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
7:30 PM
3
Friday, June 03, 2022
At the Met: The Rake's Progress
7:00 PM
4
Saturday, June 04, 2022
At the Met: Hamlet
1:00 PM
At the Met: Rigoletto
8:00 PM