The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Behind the Golden Curtain: Arts and Artisans at the Met: Promoting Opera in the 21st Century

All tickets are sold out!

Thursday, March 23, 2017 6:00 PM

Presented by Stuart Holt
Duration: 1 hour
Part of the Behind the Golden Curtain: Arts and Artisans at the Met series

In this series of conversations, the Guild’s Director of School Programs and Community Engagement, Stuart Holt, joins Metropolitan Opera musicians, artisans, and administrators for an inside look at the workings of one of the world’s major performing arts institutions.

The social and cultural landscape is changing quickly, and the art of promoting opera performances must evolve along with it. Members of the Met’s Marketing and Communication departments, together with a special guest singer, will talk about the challenges of bringing opera into the digital age. Learn about changing models of ticket buying, social media engagement with artists, creating new benefits for audiences, and more.

If you would like to purchase the entire Behind the Golden Curtain course, please click here or visit the "Courses" tab on the Lectures and More page.

Please note that Student pricing is available to full-time students with valid identification.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday–Friday 10am–4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

November 2017>
SMTWTFS
2930311234
567891011
12131415161718
192021222324
Friday, November 24, 2017
At the Met: Requiem
8:00 PM
25
Saturday, November 25, 2017
At the Met: The Magic Flute
2:00 PM
At the Met: Thaïs
8:00 PM
2627 28
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Thaïs
7:30 PM
29
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Requiem
7:30 PM
30
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
1
Friday, December 01, 2017
At the Met: Norma
8:00 PM
2
Saturday, December 02, 2017
Score Reading: Requiem
10:00 AM
Score Reading: Requiem
10:00 AM
At the Met: Requiem
1:00 PM
At the Met: Thaïs
8:00 PM
3
Sunday, December 03, 2017
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
Master Class: La Boheme
3:00 PM
4
Monday, December 04, 2017
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
5
Tuesday, December 05, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Norma
7:30 PM
6
Wednesday, December 06, 2017
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
7
Thursday, December 07, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM

RENÉE & FRIENDS 

12:15PM
8
Friday, December 08, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Norma
8:00 PM
9
Saturday, December 09, 2017
At the Met: The Magic Flute
12:30 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
8:00 PM