The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Inventing and Reinventing an Operatic Career Part 2: The Reinvention

All tickets are sold out!

Monday, May 22, 2017 2:00 PM

Presented by Jane Marsh
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Part of the Inventing and Reinventing an Operatic Career series

Establishing an opera career is like building a house; one starts at the foundation and designs a personal plan, leading to one’s goals. Sometimes one has to renovate the floorplan of one’s home; this can also be the case with an opera career. Join Jane Marsh in a two part series as she explores the invention and reinvention of several opera careers from the past and present.

How does a mature opera singer create a new and unique extension to his or her existing career while also defying limiting attitudes-particularly approaching or involved in middle age? Whether it is personal circumstances or vocal conditions, the final goal is to ensure the longest and most highly competent vocal life. In part two, Jane Marsh investigates the reinventing steps of some of operas most recognized careers.

If you would like to purchase the entire Inventing and Reinventing an Operatic Career course, please click here or visit the "Courses" tab on the Lectures and More page.

Please note that Student pricing is available to full-time students with valid identification.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

October 2017>
SMTWTFS
24252627282930
1234567
891011121314
15161718
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
7:30 PM
19
Thursday, October 19, 2017
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM
20
Friday, October 20, 2017
At the Met: Norma
8:00 PM
21
22
Sunday, October 22, 2017
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
23
Monday, October 23, 2017
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
24
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
7:30 PM
25
Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Turandot
7:30 PM
26
Thursday, October 26, 2017
At the Met: The Exterminating Angel
8:00 PM
27
Friday, October 27, 2017
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM
28
Saturday, October 28, 2017
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
12:00 PM
At the Met: Turandot
8:00 PM
29
Sunday, October 29, 2017
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
30 31
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Turandot
7:30 PM
1
Wednesday, November 01, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
2
Thursday, November 02, 2017
Pants Roles Part 1
2:00 PM
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
7:30 PM
3
Friday, November 03, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Exterminating Angel
8:00 PM
4
Saturday, November 04, 2017
Last Works, Part I
10:30 AM
Last Works, Part II
1:00 PM
At the Met: Turandot
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM