The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Opera Boot Camp: Introduction to Operatic Voice Types - Baritones and Basses

All tickets are sold out!

Saturday, September 23, 2017 1:00 PM

Presented by Naomi Barrettara
Duration: 90 Minutes
Part of the Opera Boot Camp: Introduction to the Operatic Voice Types series

Words like spinto, fach, coloratura, and tessitura are all regularly used to describe the types of voices we hear in the opera repertoire, but what do these words mean in relation to singing? What are operatic voice types, and what is the difference between them? In this four-part course, resident Opera Boot Camp instructor Naomi Barrettara will address these questions and more as she guides the audience through an exploration of operatic voice types, highlighting singers of the past and present and discussing how their voices fit into (or, in some cases, defy) established vocal categorizations.

If you would like to purchase the entire Series Title course, please click here or visit the "Courses" tab on the Lectures and More page.

Please note that Student pricing is available to full-time students with valid identification.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

November 2017>
SMTWTFS
2930311234
567891011
12131415161718
192021222324
Friday, November 24, 2017
At the Met: Requiem
8:00 PM
25
Saturday, November 25, 2017
At the Met: The Magic Flute
2:00 PM
At the Met: Thaïs
8:00 PM
2627 28
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Thaïs
7:30 PM
29
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Requiem
7:30 PM
30
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
1
Friday, December 01, 2017
At the Met: Norma
8:00 PM
2
Saturday, December 02, 2017
Score Reading: Requiem
10:00 AM
Score Reading: Requiem
10:00 AM
At the Met: Requiem
1:00 PM
At the Met: Thaïs
8:00 PM
3
Sunday, December 03, 2017
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
Master Class: La Boheme
3:00 PM
4
Monday, December 04, 2017
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
5
Tuesday, December 05, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Norma
7:30 PM
6
Wednesday, December 06, 2017
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
7:30 PM
7
Thursday, December 07, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM

RENÉE & FRIENDS 

12:15PM
8
Friday, December 08, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Norma
8:00 PM
9
Saturday, December 09, 2017
At the Met: The Magic Flute
12:30 PM
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
8:00 PM