The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Opera in the New Millennium, Part II

All tickets are sold out!

Saturday, October 21, 2017 1:00 PM

Presented by Naomi Barrettara and Elspeth Davis
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes

From Monteverdi to Muhly, opera has been an important form of cultural expression and an agent of change for centuries. Thomas Adès The Exterminating Angel is one of the most dramatically thrilling operas to premier in the last two decades; however, it's not the only one. Focusing on works written post-2000, Guild lecturers Naomi Barrettara and Elspeth Davis will discuss musical styles and theatrical trends that are shaping opera today.

Operea; The Next Generation
How do composers choose subject matter for new works? How do librettists and composers work together? What inspires musical and compositional choices? In the second half of our day, special guests Missy Mazzoli, Paola Prestini, and Kevin Puts will join Naomi and Elspeth to discuss what it takes to create and produce an opera in today's world.

Please note that Student pricing is available to full-time students with valid identification.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

April 2019>
SMTWTFS
31123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21
Sunday, April 21, 2019
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
222324 25
Thursday, April 25, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:30 PM
26
Friday, April 26, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
27
2829
Monday, April 29, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Das Rheingold
7:30 PM
30
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:00 PM
Divas & Dinner
6:00 PM
1
Wednesday, May 01, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
2
Thursday, May 02, 2019
At the Met: Siegfried
6:00 PM
3
Friday, May 03, 2019
At the Met: SD: Dialogues des Carmélites
7:30 PM
4
56
Monday, May 06, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Das Rheingold
7:30 PM
7
Tuesday, May 07, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:00 PM
8 9
Thursday, May 09, 2019
At the Met: Siegfried
6:00 PM
10
Friday, May 10, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
11