The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Opera in the New Millennium, Part II

All tickets are sold out!

Saturday, October 21, 2017 1:00 PM

Presented by Naomi Barrettara and Elspeth Davis
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes

From Monteverdi to Muhly, opera has been an important form of cultural expression and an agent of change for centuries. Thomas Adès The Exterminating Angel is one of the most dramatically thrilling operas to premier in the last two decades; however, it's not the only one. Focusing on works written post-2000, Guild lecturers Naomi Barrettara and Elspeth Davis will discuss musical styles and theatrical trends that are shaping opera today.

Operea; The Next Generation
How do composers choose subject matter for new works? How do librettists and composers work together? What inspires musical and compositional choices? In the second half of our day, special guests Missy Mazzoli, Paola Prestini, and Kevin Puts will join Naomi and Elspeth to discuss what it takes to create and produce an opera in today's world.

Please note that Student pricing is available to full-time students with valid identification.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

August 2018>
SMTWTFS
2930311234
567891011
12131415161718
192021222324
Friday, August 24, 2018
Night at the Opera
5:30 PM
25
Saturday, August 25, 2018
Romeo et Juliette
5:30 PM
26
Sunday, August 26, 2018
Norma
5:30 PM
27
Monday, August 27, 2018
Elektra
5:30 PM
28
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Il Barbiere di Siviglia
5:30 PM
29
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Lulu
5:30 PM
30
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Rusalka
5:30 PM
31
Friday, August 31, 2018
L'Elisir d'Amore
5:30 PM
1
Saturday, September 01, 2018
Un Ballo in Maschera
5:30 PM
2
Sunday, September 02, 2018
Der Rosenkavalier
5:30 PM
3
Monday, September 03, 2018
Madama Butterfly
5:30 PM
45678