The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

A Verdi Turning Point: Il Trovatore

All tickets are sold out!

Monday, January 22, 2018 6:00 PM

Presented by Jane Marsh
Duration: 1 hour
Part of the Opera Outlooks series

In Il Trovatore, Verdi created a work that incorporates both bel canto virtuosity and the dark drama of the composer's later, most famous masterpieces. Jane Marsh touches upon specifics of Verdi's innovative and melodic vocal writing and discusses why this opera is considered a turning point of his middle period.

Please note that Student pricing is available to full-time students with valid identification.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

April 2018>
SMTWTFS
25262728293031
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
2223242526
Thursday, April 26, 2018
At the Met: Tosca
8:00 PM
27
Friday, April 27, 2018
At the Met: Romeo et Juliette
8:00 PM
28
Saturday, April 28, 2018
At the Met: Cendrillon
1:00 PM
At the Met: Lucia di Lammermoor
8:00 PM
29
Sunday, April 29, 2018
At the Met: National Council Grand Finals
3:00 PM
30
Monday, April 30, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Tosca
7:30 PM
1 2
Wednesday, May 02, 2018
Opera Duos, Part III
11:00 AM
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Lucia di Lammermoor
7:30 PM
3
Thursday, May 03, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Cendrillon
8:00 PM
4
Friday, May 04, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Tosca
8:00 PM
5
Saturday, May 05, 2018
At the Met: Romeo et Juliette
1:00 PM
At the Met: Lucia di Lammermoor
8:00 PM