The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Defining the Diva: From Maria Callas to Adele

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 6:00 PM

In this intimate interview series, some of today's greatest opera stars chat with editors of Opera News.

Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes

Defining the Diva: From Maria Callas to Adele
The operatic term "diva" - first used to describe the goddess-like stature of 19th-century opera singers - is now attached to artists from the world of pop, jazz, and country music. Who really deserves the title? F. Paul Driscoll, Editor-in-Chief of Opera News, offers a genre-busting list of ten albums that established ten singers as true divas.

Please note that Student pricing is available to full-time students with valid identification.

This interview will be held in the Opera Learning Center located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Quantity Price
Standard Price: $30.00
Member Price: $28.00
Student Price: $28.00
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

September 2017>
SMTWTFS
272829303112
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425
Monday, September 25, 2017
At the Met: Norma
6:30 PM
26
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
7:30 PM
27
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
7:30 PM
28
Thursday, September 28, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
Love and Loss in Bellini's Norma
6:00 PM
At the Met: Norma
8:00 PM
2930
Saturday, September 30, 2017
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
12:00 PM
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
8:00 PM
12
Monday, October 02, 2017
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
3
Tuesday, October 03, 2017
At the Met: Norma
7:30 PM
4
Wednesday, October 04, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
7:30 PM
5
Thursday, October 05, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Die Zauberflote
7:30 PM
6
Friday, October 06, 2017
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM
7
Saturday, October 07, 2017
Score Reading: Norma
10:00 AM
Score Reading: Norma
10:00 AM
At the Met: Norma
1:00 PM
At the Met: Les Contes d'Hoffmann
8:00 PM