The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Opera Boot Camp: Femmes Fatales, Part 3

To purchase tickets, please call 212-769-7028.

Saturday, March 02, 2019 10:30 AM

Character Study—Marnie and the Queen of the Night
Presented by Naomi Barrettara and Stephanie Pierson

Nico Muhly said in an interview that the title character of Marnie reminded him of Debussy’s Mélisande: “a woman who is both hunter and hunted.” In Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte, the Queen of the Night is both hunter and hunted in a different way. Blurred lines between good, evil, truth, and power permeate both works, but do these characters fit the classic mold of the femme fatale? Join us as we explore all this and more in the third session.

This course has four sessions. To purchase all sessions of Opera Boot Camp: Femmes Fatales, please click here.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

April 2019>
SMTWTFS
31123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324 25
Thursday, April 25, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:30 PM
26
Friday, April 26, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
27
2829
Monday, April 29, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Das Rheingold
7:30 PM
30
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:00 PM
Divas & Dinner
6:00 PM
1
Wednesday, May 01, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
2
Thursday, May 02, 2019
At the Met: Siegfried
6:00 PM
3
Friday, May 03, 2019
At the Met: SD: Dialogues des Carmélites
7:30 PM
4
56
Monday, May 06, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Das Rheingold
7:30 PM
7
Tuesday, May 07, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:00 PM
8 9
Thursday, May 09, 2019
At the Met: Siegfried
6:00 PM
10
Friday, May 10, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
11