The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Opera Boot Camp: Introduction to the Opera Chorus, Part 1

All tickets are sold out!

Saturday, April 06, 2019 10:30 AM

The Chorus throughout Opera History—Part 1
Presented by Naomi Barrettara

From early influences of ancient Greek choruses to portraying nymphs, shepherds, villagers, and armies, the opera chorus has evolved in both form and function throughout opera history. In this first session, we will explore the musical and dramatic use of the chorus from the earliest operas in the art form through to the end of the Italian bel canto period.

This course has four sessions. To purchase all sessions of Opera Boot Camp: Introduction to the Opera Chorus, please click here.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

March 2019>
SMTWTFS
242526272812
3456789
10111213141516
1718
Monday, March 18, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Tosca
8:00 PM
19 20
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
21
Thursday, March 21, 2019
The Ring: Music, Motifs, and Magic
6:30 PM
2223
2425
Monday, March 25, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:30 PM
26
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Tosca
7:30 PM
2728 29
Friday, March 29, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Tosca
8:00 PM
30
31
Sunday, March 31, 2019
At the Met: National Council Grand Finals
3:00 PM
12
Tuesday, April 02, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: Tosca
7:30 PM
3 4
Thursday, April 04, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Don Giovanni
8:00 PM
5
Friday, April 05, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: La Traviata
8:00 PM
6