The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Opera Explorers Image

Opera Explorers

An adventure awaits for families with young children ages 4-6!  

This program is specifically geared toward guardians with young children ages 4-6 who want to actively participate in an arts program as a family. Opera Explorers will utilize the various elements of opera (composition, libretto, design, movement, etc.) to explore scenes from various operas.  

The program will be presented on Saturdays in the Spring of 2023 in the Guild’s Opera Learning Center, located in the Samuel B. and David Rose Building, on the Lincoln Center campus. The program will be facilitated by Soprano and Guild Teaching Artist, Elizabeth Van Os.   

To help promote a creative environment that fosters guardian-child bonding, Opera Explorers participation will be capped at 40 participants. Participants will be asked to attend all four sessions. Attending caregivers should be willing to fully participate in all activities with their child(ren) - including singing, dancing, arts and crafts. The participation fees for the entire four-week workshop will be $100 for one child and guardian, and $25 for each additional child (they must also be in the 4-6 age range).  

All participants 5 and older must be fully vaccinated. You are considered fully vaccinated two weeks after you have received a second dose in a two-dose vaccine series or two weeks after you have received a single-dose vaccine. Participants must provide in-person verification of vaccination. All audiences will be asked to sign a Covid-19 waiver when purchasing tickets. At this time face masks will be required within the Rose Building and the Opera Learning Center. Should this policy change, we will notify audience members prior to the event. 

For more information, please contact communityengagement@metguild.org 

This program is being produced with financial support from the Laura B. Vogler Foundation and The Lee Thaw Charitable Trust. 

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

May 2022>
SMTWTFS
24252627
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
282930
Saturday, April 30, 2022
At the Met: Aida
3:00 PM
123456
Friday, May 06, 2022
At the Met: Aida
8:00 PM
7
8910
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
111213
Friday, May 13, 2022
At the Met: Aida
1:00 PM
14
15161718
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
At the Met: Aida
7:30 PM
192021
222324
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
At the Met: Score Desk Tickets: La Boheme
8:00 PM
25
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
7:30 PM
26 27
Friday, May 27, 2022
At the Met: Score Desk Tickets: La Boheme
8:00 PM
28
Saturday, May 28, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
1:00 PM
At the Met: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
2930
Monday, May 30, 2022
At the Met: The Rake's Progress
7:30 PM
31
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
At the Met: Hamlet
7:30 PM
1
Wednesday, June 01, 2022
At the Met: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
2
Thursday, June 02, 2022
At the Met: Akhnaten
7:30 PM
3
Friday, June 03, 2022
At the Met: The Rake's Progress
7:00 PM
4
Saturday, June 04, 2022
At the Met: Hamlet
1:00 PM
At the Met: Rigoletto
8:00 PM