The Metropolitan Opera Guild

 Score Reading Crash Courses   
 
Explore the basics of reading an opera score in these casual, small-group sessions. Crash Courses delve into the musical highlights of the featured opera, giving beginning and intermediate readers the tools to explore the intricate workings of a score and experience a new way of listening to opera. Learn more about how a composer tells a story in music creation. Add a score-desk seat to the following performance at the Met and turn your study into a full day of learning, listening, and experiencing opera. 
 
All classes take place before a corresponding performance for each featured opera, and annotated piano-vocal scores are provided as part of the class ticket price. Beginner-level ability to read music is recommended. 
 
Events are held in the Opera Learning Center, on the 6th floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center. 
 
Tickets $35 for class and materials only / $40 with added score desk seat for the following performance  

 
 Tickets are now on sale! 

 
 
 
Samson et Dalila  
Saturday, October 20, 10-11:30AM 
 
Tosca  
Saturday, November 17, 
10-11:30AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Pelleas et Melisande   
Saturday, January 19, 10-11:30AM 
This event is SOLD OUT! To be placed on the waitlist, please call us at 212-769-7028
 
Saturday, February 9, 10-11:30AM 
 
Saturday, March 16, 10-11:30AM 
 
 
 
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

March 2019>
SMTWTFS
242526272812
3456789
10111213141516
1718
Monday, March 18, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Tosca
8:00 PM
19 20
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
21
Thursday, March 21, 2019
The Ring: Music, Motifs, and Magic
6:30 PM
2223
2425
Monday, March 25, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:30 PM
26
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Tosca
7:30 PM
2728 29
Friday, March 29, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Tosca
8:00 PM
30
31
Sunday, March 31, 2019
At the Met: National Council Grand Finals
3:00 PM
12
Tuesday, April 02, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: Tosca
7:30 PM
3 4
Thursday, April 04, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Don Giovanni
8:00 PM
5
Friday, April 05, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: La Traviata
8:00 PM
6