The Metropolitan Opera Guild

 Score Reading Crash Courses   
 
Explore the basics of reading an opera score in these casual, small-group sessions. Crash Courses delve into the musical highlights of the featured opera, giving beginning and intermediate readers the tools to explore the intricate workings of a score and experience a new way of listening to opera. Learn more about how a composer tells a story in music creation. Add a score-desk seat to the following performance at the Met and turn your study into a full day of learning, listening, and experiencing opera. 
 
All classes take place before a corresponding performance for each featured opera, and annotated piano-vocal scores are provided as part of the class ticket price. Beginner-level ability to read music is recommended. 
 
Events are held in the Opera Learning Center, on the 6th floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center. 
 
Tickets $35 for class and materials only / $40 with added score desk seat for the following performance  

 
 Tickets are now on sale! 

 
 
Saturday, October 20, 10-11:30AM 
 
Saturday, November 17, 
10-11:30AM 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Saturday, January 19, 10-11:30AM 
 
Saturday, February 9, 10-11:30AM 
 
Saturday, March 10, 10-11:30AM 
 
 
 
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

December 2018>
SMTWTFS
2526272829301
2345678
910111213
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: La Boheme
8:00 PM
14
Friday, December 14, 2018
At the Met: Score Desk: Otello
8:00 PM
15
16
Sunday, December 16, 2018
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
17
Monday, December 17, 2018
At the Met: Score Desk: Otello
7:30 PM
18
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: La Traviata
7:30 PM
19
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
At the Met: Score Desk: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
2021
Friday, December 21, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: Otello
8:00 PM
22
23
Sunday, December 23, 2018
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
24
Monday, December 24, 2018
At the Met: Score Desk: The Magic Flute
7:00 PM
2526
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: La Traviata
7:30 PM
27
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
28
Friday, December 28, 2018
At the Met: Score Desk: Otello
7:30 PM
29
30
Sunday, December 30, 2018
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
31
Monday, December 31, 2018
At the Met: Score Desk: Adriana Lecouvreur
6:00 PM
1
Tuesday, January 01, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: The Magic Flute
3:30 PM
2
Wednesday, January 02, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: Otello
7:30 PM
3
Thursday, January 03, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
4
Friday, January 04, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: Adriana Lecouvreur
7:30 PM
5