The Metropolitan Opera Guild

 Score Reading Crash Courses   
 
Explore the basics of reading an opera score in these casual, small-group sessions. Crash Courses delve into the musical highlights of the featured opera, giving beginning and intermediate readers the tools to explore the intricate workings of a score and experience a new way of listening to opera. Learn more about how a composer tells a story in music creation. Add a score-desk seat to the following performance at the Met and turn your study into a full day of learning, listening, and experiencing opera. 
 
All classes take place before a corresponding performance for each featured opera, and annotated piano-vocal scores are provided as part of the class ticket price. Beginner-level ability to read music is recommended. 
 
Events are held in the Opera Learning Center, on the 6th floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center. 
 
Tickets $35 for class and materials only / $40 with added score desk seat for the following performance  

 
Tickets for the 2017-2018 Season go on sale on Monday, August 7
 
 

   

Norma  
Saturday, October 7, 10-11:30AM 
 
Thaïs  
Saturday, November 18, 4:30-6PM 
 
Saturday, December 2, 10-11:30AM 
 
Saturday, February 3, 10-11:30AM 
 
Saturday, March 10, 10-11:30AM 
 
Saturday, April 7, 10-11:30AM 
 
 
_________________________________________________________
Saturday, April 14, 10:30 AM - 12 PM & 1 - 2:30PM
Operatic arias can take many different forms and traverse extreme expressions of emotion - from passionate declarations of love and ornamented mad scenes to mournful farewells and painful heartbreak. This two-part score-reading study day is dedicated to exploring the music of some of this season's greatest arias and dramatic moments, covering a variety of styles and composers. Learn more about the history and evolution of aria structures, compositional conventions, interpretive challenges, and styles of singing as we explore highlights from across the Met's 2017-2018 season.
 
Two-session registration (not available singly) is $50 for the general public and $46 for Guild members. 
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

February 2018>
SMTWTFS
28293031123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
Saturday, February 24, 2018
At the Met: La Boheme
12:30 PM
At the Met: Semiramide
8:00 PM
25
Sunday, February 25, 2018
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
26
Monday, February 26, 2018
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
7:30 PM
27
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
At the Met: Parsifal
6:00 PM
28
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
Bel Canto Fireworks: Rossini's Semiramide
6:00 PM
At the Met: Semiramide
7:30 PM
1
Thursday, March 01, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Elektra
8:00 PM
2
Friday, March 02, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM
3
Saturday, March 03, 2018
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
1:00 PM
At the Met: Semiramide
8:00 PM
4
Sunday, March 04, 2018
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
5
Monday, March 05, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
Obsession and Revenge in Elektra
6:00 PM
At the Met: Elektra
7:30 PM
6
Tuesday, March 06, 2018
In Studio: Ermonela Jaho
6:00 PM
At the Met: Semiramide
7:30 PM
7
Wednesday, March 07, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
8
Thursday, March 08, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
7:30 PM
9
Friday, March 09, 2018
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Elektra
8:00 PM
10
Saturday, March 10, 2018
Score Reading: Semiramide
10:00 AM
Score Reading: Semiramide
10:00 AM
At the Met: Semiramide
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
8:30 PM