The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Score Reading Workshops 
 
Saturday morning score reading classes delve into the musical highlights of an opera, giving beginner and intermediate readers the tools to explore the intricate workings of a score and experience a new way of listening to opera. Learn more about how a composer tells a story in music and about important historical events and artistic movements that influenced each opera’s creation. Add a score-desk seat to a performance at the Met and turn your study into a full day of learning, listening, and experiencing opera.
 
All classes take place before a corresponding performance for each featured opera, and annotated piano-vocal scores are provided as part of the class ticket price, unless otherwise noted. Beginner-level ability to read music is recommended.
 
INDIVIDUAL SESSIONS: $40 class and materials only | $50 class and score desk seat for performance. 
Please note that score desk seats do not offer a view of the stage. All classes take place on Saturday mornings from 10–11:30AM

 
Tickets are now on sale!
To purchase tickets to each Score Reading Workshop Package, please click on the titles below.
 
 
OCT 26 MASSENET MANON 
 
NOV 9 GLUCK ORFEO ED EURIDICE*
*This opera’s corresponding performance takes place on Sunday, Nov 10 at 3pm, one day after the score reading workshop.
 
JAN 4 STRAUSS DER ROSENKAVALIER**
**The score provided will include only the excerpts covered in class. Those wishing to peruse a full score during the performance must obtain one independently.
 
FEB 29 HANDEL AGRIPPINA  
 
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

April 2020>
SMTWTFS
2930311234
56789
Thursday, April 09, 2020
At the Met: Turandot
7:30 PM
10
Friday, April 10, 2020
At the Met: Simon Boccanegra
7:30 PM
11
Saturday, April 11, 2020
At the Met: Tosca
1:00 PM
At the Met: Madama Butterfly
8:00 PM
1213
Monday, April 13, 2020
At the Met: Turandot
7:30 PM
14
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
At the Met: Simon Boccanegra
7:30 PM
15
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
At the Met: Tosca
7:30 PM
1617
Friday, April 17, 2020
At the Met: Turandot
8:00 PM
18
19
Sunday, April 19, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
3:00 PM
2021
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
At the Met: Turandot
7:30 PM
22 23 2425
2627
Monday, April 27, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
7:30 PM
28 29
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Magical Mezzos: Part 2
11:00 AM
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
30
Thursday, April 30, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
7:30 PM
1
Friday, May 01, 2020
At the Met: Manon Lescaut
8:00 PM
2
Saturday, May 02, 2020
Animals in Opera
11:00 AM
At the Met: Kát'a Kabanová
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Boheme
7:30 PM
3
Sunday, May 03, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
3:00 PM
45
Tuesday, May 05, 2020
At the Met: Manon Lescaut
8:00 PM
6
Wednesday, May 06, 2020
Magical Mezzos: Part 3
11:00 AM
At the Met: Kát'a Kabanová
8:00 PM
7
Thursday, May 07, 2020
At the Met: La Boheme
8:00 PM
8
Friday, May 08, 2020
At the Met: Manon Lescaut
8:00 PM
9
Saturday, May 09, 2020
At the Met: Maria Stuarda
1:00 PM
At the Met: Kát'a Kabanová
7:30 PM